CEED was a partnership between five Collaborating Organisations and six Partner Organisations. Its operations were managed from The University of Queensland in Brisbane.

CEED's researchers are recognised as global leaders in fundamental environmental science and CEED put a high priority on the career development of the next generation of conservation researchers. Our complement of over 150 researchers — Chief Investigators, Partner Investigators, Senior Researchers, PhD and Masters students — collaborated extensively across node and disciplines. This collaborative culture has been the key to our success. 

The Centre’s governance structure reflects the emphasis on strategy, research, and communication and outreach in planning and implementing the work programs.


Collaborating Organisations:
  • The University of Queensland (UQ)
  • The University of Melbourne (UM)
  • The Australian National University (ANU)
  • RMIT University (RMIT)
  • The University of Western Australia (UWA)
Partner Organisations:
  • Trinity College Dublin (TCD)
  • Imperial College London (ICL)
  • Oxford University (OU)
  • Hebrew University of Jerusalem Israel (HUJI)
  • US Geological Survey (USGS). 

Centre Executive

The Centre’s Executive guided our operations and consisted of the Theme Leaders, Node Directors, Chief Investigators, and the Chief Operations Officer. The Director Professor Kerrie Wilson and Deputy Director Professor Michael McCarthy provided the overarching guidance and dayto-day leadership of the Centre and its research. The Executive met every few months via teleconferences or face-to-face at events to discuss Centre management, research, operations and policy.

Executive Members at 2018
  • Prof Kerrie Wilson (Director), UQ
  • Prof Michael McCarthy (Deputy Director), UM
  • Prof David Lindenmayer, ANU
  • Prof David Pannell, UWA
  • Assoc Prof Jonathan Rhodes, UQ
  • Prof Sarah Bekessy, RMIT
  • Prof Brendan Wintle, UM
  • Assoc Prof Jane Elith, UM
  • Prof Richard Hobbs, UWA
  • Assoc Prof Salit Kark, UQ
  • Dr Eve McDonald-Madden, UQ
  • Dr Anthony Richardson, UQ Associate
  • Prof Peter Vesk, UM
  • Ms Melanie Gunn, (Chief Operations Officer), UQ

Centre Advisory Board

The Centre Advisory Board (CAB) was comprised of members from the research, industry, policy and philanthropic sectors and provided strategic advice to the Centre’s Executive leadership team with a particular focus on governance, communication, impact, outreach, research management and future planning.

The Board membership was reconfigured in early 2017. The CAB met every year.

CEED CAB2017 members webCAB members in 2017 (Back left to front right): David Shelmerdine, Alistar Robertson, Michael McCarthy, Kerrie Wilson, Margaret Byrne, Melissa Brown, Tony Peacock.

  • Prof Alistar Robertson (Chair), UWA
  • Dr Margaret Byrne, Western Australian Department of Biodiversity, Conservation and Attractions
  • Mr David Shelmerdine, Myer Foundation
  • Dr Tony Peacock, CEO, CRC Association
  • Prof Melissa Brown, Executive Dean, Faculty of Science, UQ
Ex Officio Members
  • Prof Kerrie Wilson (Director), UQ
  • Prof Michael McCarthy (Deputy Director), UM
  • Dr Kathy Avent (Chief Operations Officer), UQ

International Scientific Advisory Panel

The function of the International Scientific Advisory Panel (ISAP) was to ensure CEED remained at the forefront of international research in environmental decision science. The ISAP was particularly important for helping the Centre to enhance its international linkages and show international leadership in its discipline. The ISAP had five members, all of whom were world leaders in pure and applied ecological research.

  • Prof Antoine Guisan, University of Lausanne
  • Prof Claire Kremen, University of California, Berkeley
  • Prof Bill Murdoch, University of California, Santa Barbara
  • Prof Bill Sutherland, Miriam Rothschild Professor of Conservation Biology, Cambridge University
  • Prof Peter Kareiva, Director, Institute of the Environment and Sustainability, UCLA